28 January, 2009


Here for your listening pleasure, Volume 3 of the Sebastopol Mixtape, our own sampler of new, old, and interesting music.

This edition's hilights include new music from M. Ward and Beirut bandleader Zach Condon's Realpeople solo project, along with a rare song from the Walkmen's former incarnation Jonathan Fire*Eater.

Track List:

  1. M. Ward - Never Had Nobody Like You (New)
  2. Jonathan Fire*Eater - Make it Precious
  3. Oxford Collapse - B-Roll
  4. The Books and José González - Cello Song (from the Dark Was the Night comp
    Andrew Bird - Not a Robot, But a Ghost (New)
  5. The Pop Group - Thief of Fire
  6. Throw Me the Statue - Young Sensualists
  7. Deerhoof - Chandalier Searchlight
  8. The Black Angels - Doves
  9. Realpeople - The Concubine (Zach Condon solo project) (New)
  10. A.C. Newman - Like a Hitman, Like a Dancer
  11. Eddy Current Suppression Ring - I Admit My Faults
  12. Skeletons - The Things
  13. The Verve - Star Sail
  14. Black Joe Lewis & The Honey Bears - Evil
  15. Thee Oh Sees - Two Drummers Disappear

Mediafire download link: pwned

EDIT: 1/30/09: So the Web Sheriff came a-knocking sometime this morning and sent me a friendly cease-and-desist comment (which you can read below). Hope you snagged that awesome Books track while you could!

I'll replace it with something special.

NEW Mediafire download link -> http://www.mediafire.com/?u0mz3jolxvt

1 comment:

    Protecting Your Rights on the Internet
    Tel 44-(0)208-323 8013
    Fax 44-(0)208 323 8080

    Hi Dan,

    On behalf of 4AD, huge thanks for plugging "Dark Was The Night", the multi-artist charity album benefiting the Red Hot Organization (release dates February 17th US and 16th UK) ... .. we would, however, kindly ask you NOT to post pirated copies of unauthorized individual tracks from the album - or the album itself - on your site (or elsewhere) ... .. aside, of course, from "Knotty Pine" by David Byrne and Dirty Projectors, which is the official preview / promo track and which fans and bloggers are very welcome to host / post / share etc.

    Additionally, a series of one-day-only streams are also available on the official, "Dark Was The Night" MySpace page at http://www.myspace.com/darkwasthenight ... .. these are being streamed on a one-track-per-day basis and fans and bloggers are again welcome to link to them on the actual day of each preview stream (only) ... .. although Red Hot and 4AD have asked that people don’t then rip these tracks and continue to host them on their blogs or post them onto file-sharing sites … .. all proceeds / royalties are going to AIDS and HIV projects and research and, understandably, everyone involved in this project is seeking to maximize legitimate sales (and pre-release postings can potentially have a negative impact on that goal).

    Following in the wake of the streams , a series of official widgets are also now available at http://www.darkwasthenight.com/getthewidget and fans and bloggers are invited to select up to 3 of their favourite tracks to embed, again using these official widgets exclusively and again with the request that you don’t then rip and post pirated copies ... .. so, as you can see, the selection of pre-release promo tracks now available is very fair to say the least and we would again ask you NOT to leak tracks from this charity album (other than as per the above guidelines).

    We do appreciate that you are fans of / are promoting the many artists who have generously donated their time and their songs to this project - and that you are helping to promote this good cause - but Red Hot, 4AD and all of the artists concerned would greatly appreciate your co-operation in removing your links to the files in question.

    For info on Red Hot’s 20 years of charitable work and to pre-order a copy of "Dark Was The Night", check-out www.DarkWasTheNight.com .

    Thanks Again,